Skip to content

Lyra Halprin: February [London to Dead Cat Alley]

February 15, 2019

Hi dear Scribe Lab gang,

This is a new chapter from my memoir about growing up in California in the 1950s-70s and becoming a feminist. I’ve been editing chapters about going to journalism grad school, and about being selected for a sexist agricultural leadership program but couldn’t figure out how to link them together. I realized I wanted to just write about what it was like trying to find a reporting job in the post-Watergate 1970s when you live in California’s Central Valley. Maybe the other chapters can flow into and out of this. It’s early days for the draft and I hope it’s not too much, “this happened and then this happened,” but that it captures some of the delight I felt finally being out of school and ready to start life as a reporter in any town that would have me. What do you think?

Two items:

  1. Rory is my granddaughter.
  2. I reference an odd two-year correspondence I had with an editor at Mad Magazine.

Cheers,

Lyra

For Scribe Lab-London to

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment